How much does an accountant cost in the UK?
In 2026 a straightforward Self Assessment costs £150–£400 + VAT at a typical UK accountant and £35–£240 from an online service; a monthly package runs from about £25 + VAT for a sole trader and £40–£180 + VAT for a limited company; a small company's annual accounts and tax return cost £349–£1,275 + VAT as a one-off job. The tables below show the published prices of 35 providers next to ours, checked on 21 August 2026.
Accountancy is one of the few services where almost nobody publishes a price, and those who do make the prices hard to compare: plus VAT or not, software included or not, “from” or fixed, a flat fee or a slice of your refund. So we did the comparison ourselves. Every figure below was read on the provider's own website on 21 August 2026, and our own price sits in the first row of each table.
Self Assessment tax return, one-off
One personal tax return prepared and filed: self-employment, a side income, dividends, a single rental. The price depends mostly on how tidy the records are and how many income sources there are.
Market: Apps and online services £35–£240 · a typical firm £150–£400 + VAT · complex returns £500 and up
| Who | What the price buys | Price | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| REMEZ & PARTNERSUs · London & remote | Three fixed prices, agreed before we start: Simple £99 (one extra income, tidy records), Standard £149 (a sole trader with expenses — most people), Complex £249 (several incomes, gains or foreign income). No VAT on top. | £99, £149 or £249no VAT | No VAT. Fixed, in writing, before any work starts. | Self Assessment → |
| TaxdSoftware | Simple return (employment, interest, dividends) / full return (self-employment, property, foreign income, directors) | £35–£99 inc. VAT£35–£99 inc. VAT | Software-led: you answer questions, Taxd files. A call with a tax adviser is £100 extra; filing in the last days before 31 January adds £21. | site ↗ |
| Taxfix (formerly TaxScouts)Online accountant | An accountant prepares and files one return, any complexity | £169 inc. VAT£169 inc. VAT | Flat fee. Introductory £99 for new customers on an annual plan. Higher tiers at £249 and £499 add tax-planning calls and year-round access. | site ↗ |
| CrunchOnline accountant | One-off Self Assessment by an ACCA accountant | £240 + VAT£288 inc. VAT | List price; a 35% discount code brings it to £156 + VAT at the time of checking. Prices rise as 31 January approaches, and last-minute filing carries a £105.50 + VAT express surcharge. | site ↗ |
| QAccountingOnline accountant | One-off Self Assessment prepared and submitted | from £158 + VATfrom £189.60 inc. VAT | site ↗ | |
| RIFT RefundsRefund agent | Standard return / more complex return | from £95–£125 + VATfrom £114–£150 inc. VAT | Self Assessment only. CIS and PAYE refund claims are priced separately — see the CIS section. | site ↗ |
| TaxCareAccountancy firm | Fixed fee, any return — self-employed, CIS, landlord, investor | £175 (VAT not stated)£175 (VAT not stated) | Filed within 72 hours of receiving the records; nothing paid upfront. | site ↗ |
| Coman & CoAccountancy firm | Self-employed return, priced by turnover | £150–£300 + VAT£180–£360 inc. VAT | £150 under £20k turnover, £200 to £50k, £250 to the VAT threshold, £300 above it. An employment-only return with expenses is £125 + VAT. | site ↗ |
| UK Tax ReturnsAccountancy firm | One Self Assessment return | £320, no VAT£320, no VAT | Advertised as “no VAT or any other hidden charges on top”. Specialist advice is £210 an hour. | site ↗ |
| 1st Cloud AccountantsAccountancy firm | Return with no other work / with micro self-employment / with a foreign-income schedule | £275–£315 + VAT£330–£378 inc. VAT | Published 2025/26 price list. “Expected” prices, which rise if records arrive untidy or late. (list dated March 2025) | site ↗ |
| The Online AccountantsOnline accountant | Self Assessment, small / medium / large | £299–£699 + VAT£358.80–£838.80 inc. VAT | A director’s or partner’s personal return starts at £199 + VAT. | site ↗ |
| LOYALS (London)Accountancy firm | Standard / sole trader / complex multi-source return | from £495–£1,300 a year (VAT not stated)from £495–£1,300 a year (VAT not stated) | The upper end of what a London firm publishes; useful as the ceiling of the market. | site ↗ |
| Unbiased — guide, July 2026Market guide | Typical range for a Self Assessment at a UK accountant | £150–£600 (VAT not stated)£150–£600 (VAT not stated) | “£150 to £600 or more, depending on the complexity and scope”; around £200 for a basic return. | site ↗ |
| The Accountancy Partnership — guide, August 2026Market guide | Simple £150–£250 · self-employed £200–£350 · property, gains or foreign income £350–£500+ | £150–£500 + VAT£180–£600 inc. VAT | site ↗ |
Year-round accounting, monthly subscription
The accountant on retainer: accounts and tax return included, usually with software, with bookkeeping, VAT and payroll either included or bolted on. Compare what the entry price actually covers — the add-ons are where the headline doubles.
Market: Sole trader £24.50–£60 + VAT a month · limited company £39.50–£179 + VAT a month · bookkeeping usually extra
| Who | What the price buys | Price | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| REMEZ & PARTNERSUs · London & remote | Landlord £29, sole trader £49, limited company £89, VAT-registered company £129 a month. Bookkeeping, the year-end returns and quarterly MTD filing in one subscription — rolling monthly, no contract, no VAT. | £29–£129 a monthno VAT | No VAT. Fixed, in writing, before any work starts. | What we do → |
| The Accountancy PartnershipOnline accountant | Sole trader: accounts, Self Assessment or MTD return, Pandle software, dedicated accountant | from £24.50 a month + VATfrom £29.40 a month inc. VAT | Bookkeeping is from £20 a month extra, VAT returns from £35, payroll from £24, MTD quarterly updates from £35. | site ↗ |
| The Accountancy PartnershipOnline accountant | Limited company: year-end accounts, company tax return, free incorporation, Pandle software | from £39.50 a month + VATfrom £47.40 a month inc. VAT | Each director’s Self Assessment is £10 a month on top; payroll, VAT and bookkeeping as above. | site ↗ |
| CrunchOnline accountant | Sole trader: software, Self Assessment filing, unlimited accountant support | from £27 a month + VATfrom £32.40 a month inc. VAT | site ↗ | |
| CrunchOnline accountant | Limited company: accounts, filings and software; Premier tier for complex companies | from £94–£131 a month + VATfrom £112.80–£157.20 a month inc. VAT | The actual figure comes from an instant-quote form. Employee payroll is £20 + VAT a month for up to five staff. | site ↗ |
| MazumaOnline accountant | Sole trader, four tiers by volume: bookkeeping, accounts and return, 20 to 200 transactions a month | £38–£60 a month + VAT£45.60–£72 a month inc. VAT | Bookkeeping included, which most entry packages leave out. VAT returns £20 a month extra, payroll £15. Limited companies are quoted individually. | site ↗ |
| QAccountingOnline accountant | Sole trader package / limited company package | from £33–£52.50 a month + VATfrom £39.60–£63 a month inc. VAT | £33 + VAT for sole traders, £52.50 + VAT for companies, before bookkeeping and payroll options. | site ↗ |
| Caroola (SJD Accountancy)Online accountant | Self-employed package | from £28 a month + VATfrom £33.60 a month inc. VAT | MTD for Income Tax as a separate plan from £14 + VAT a month. | site ↗ |
| Caroola (SJD Accountancy)Online accountant | Limited company: Lite (under £90k, not VAT registered) / standard (VAT registered) / inside-IR35 tier | £89–£179 a month + VAT£106.80–£214.80 a month inc. VAT | FreeAgent included. The middle tier, £135 + VAT, is the one most VAT-registered contractors land on. | site ↗ |
| SleekOnline accountant | Limited company: bookkeeping, accounts and CT600, confirmation statement, Xero, director’s return, VAT and payroll for up to five | £60 a month (VAT not stated)£60 a month (VAT not stated) | £900 a year billed annually, shown with a 20% promotional discount at the time of checking. VAT treatment not stated on the page. | site ↗ |
| OsomeOnline accountant | Operate plan: unlimited-transaction bookkeeping, year-end filings, Self Assessment, VAT filing, in-app accountant chat | £71 a month + VAT£85.20 a month inc. VAT | £850 + VAT a year, billed annually. Payroll is £10 a month per employee; a professional reference £100. | site ↗ |
| Gorilla AccountingOnline accountant | Limited company, all-inclusive: FreeAgent, accounts, CT600, VAT returns, payroll for two, one Self Assessment, confirmation statement | £125 a month + VAT£150 a month inc. VAT | A second shareholder’s return is £150 + VAT. Company formation £160. | site ↗ |
| inniAccountsOnline accountant | Contractor limited company: Essential / Professional / Business | £129–£229 a month + VAT£154.80–£274.80 a month inc. VAT | Accounts, corporation tax, quarterly VAT, payroll and two Self Assessments in every tier; the higher tiers add an account manager and advice. | site ↗ |
| Unbiased — guide, July 2026Market guide | Sole trader £50–£150 a month · limited company £200–£400 a month | £50–£400 a month (VAT not stated)£50–£400 a month (VAT not stated) | The guide’s limited-company range covers annual accounts, CT600 and director payroll. | site ↗ |
| Holloway Davies — guide, 2025/26Market guide | Micro-entity company, single director, no VAT: £800–£1,500 a year · small VAT-registered company: £1,500–£3,000 | £800–£3,000 a year (VAT not stated)£800–£3,000 a year (VAT not stated) | site ↗ |
Limited company: annual accounts and CT600, one-off
Statutory accounts to Companies House and the corporation tax return to HMRC for a small company, priced as one job rather than a subscription.
Market: Fixed-fee providers £349–£1,275 + VAT · guides put an active small company at £900–£2,000 · dormant accounts from £50
| Who | What the price buys | Price | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| REMEZ & PARTNERSUs · London & remote | Accounts filed with Companies House, CT600 and tax computation filed with HMRC, corporation tax worked out — both deadlines tracked. Dormant company accounts £129. | £549no VAT | No VAT. Fixed, in writing, before any work starts. | Company accounts → |
| The Online AccountantsOnline accountant | Limited company accounts, small / medium / large | £349–£749 + VAT£418.80–£898.80 inc. VAT | site ↗ | |
| Coman & CoAccountancy firm | Contractor company or small business below the VAT threshold / up to £250k turnover | £485–£600 + VAT£582–£720 inc. VAT | site ↗ | |
| 1st Cloud AccountantsAccountancy firm | Micro-entity (FRS 105) accounts, from under 75 transactions to VAT-registered at £250k turnover | £675–£1,275 + VAT£810–£1,530 inc. VAT | Accounts only: the CT600 is a further £325 + VAT, so the job as a whole starts around £1,000 + VAT. From reconciled books, or bookkeeping is charged first. (list dated March 2025) | site ↗ |
| LOYALS (London)Accountancy firm | Solo-director limited company, accounts and filings | from £1,200 a year (VAT not stated)from £1,200 a year (VAT not stated) | site ↗ | |
| 1st FormationsFormation agent | Dormant company accounts (form AA02) only — for a company that has never traded | £49.99 a year + VAT£59.99 a year inc. VAT | Express 24-hour version £79.99 + VAT. Not for a trading company. | site ↗ |
| 1st Cloud AccountantsAccountancy firm | Dormant accounts, never traded / non-trading with up to 60 transactions | £150–£325 + VAT£180–£390 inc. VAT | (list dated March 2025) | site ↗ |
| AccountingStack — guide, 2026Market guide | Year-end accounts plus corporation tax: small or dormant company £400–£900 · active company £900–£2,000+ | £400–£2,000 (VAT not stated)£400–£2,000 (VAT not stated) | site ↗ |
Confirmation statement
The annual confirmation that the public record is still right. Companies House charges £50 to file online; agents charge a service fee on top, and the cheap ones include the £50 in their price.
Market: £50 if you file it yourself · agents £76–£100 including the Companies House fee
| Who | What the price buys | Price | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| REMEZ & PARTNERSUs · London & remote | Checking the record against reality before confirming it — the part that matters. The £50 Companies House fee is included. | £79 including the £50 feeno VAT | No VAT. Fixed, in writing, before any work starts. | Confirmation statement → |
| Companies HouseGovernment | File it yourself through WebFiling | £50 online · £110 on paper£50 online · £110 on paper | The fee every agent below either includes or adds. It rose from £34 in February 2026. | site ↗ |
| Rapid FormationsFormation agent | Filed within three working days, Companies House fee included | £75.99 a year + VAT£91.19 a year inc. VAT | So £25.99 + VAT for the service itself. Express one-day filing £85.99 + VAT. | site ↗ |
| 1st FormationsFormation agent | Standard / express filing, Companies House fee included | £75.99–£85.99 a year (VAT not stated)£75.99–£85.99 a year (VAT not stated) | VAT treatment not shown on the service page. | site ↗ |
| Quality Company FormationsFormation agent | Annual filing for formation clients, Companies House fee included | £75.99 a year + VAT£91.19 a year inc. VAT | site ↗ | |
| Your Company FormationsFormation agent | Filing service, Companies House fee included | £90 + VAT£108 inc. VAT | site ↗ | |
| Gorilla AccountingOnline accountant | Submission as an add-on outside the monthly package | £50 + VAT£60 inc. VAT | The page does not say whether the £50 Companies House fee is included. Included in the £125 + VAT monthly package. | site ↗ |
| 1st Cloud AccountantsAccountancy firm | Preparation and filing, plus the Companies House fee | £80 + VAT£96 inc. VAT | The fee is charged on top — the list still shows the old £34. (list dated March 2025) | site ↗ |
| LOYALS (London)Accountancy firm | Standalone confirmation statement | from £100 a year (VAT not stated)from £100 a year (VAT not stated) | site ↗ |
CIS tax return and refund
The Self Assessment return that gets a subcontractor’s over-deducted tax back. Two pricing models exist: a flat fee, or a percentage of your refund — and on a typical £2,000 refund the percentage models in this table cost £200–£540.
Market: Flat fees £39–£354 · percentage models 10–15% of the refund, some with minimums around £180–£240
| Who | What the price buys | Price | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| REMEZ & PARTNERSUs · London & remote | A fixed fee agreed before we start — never a percentage of your refund. Most refunds land in two to four weeks of filing. | £149no VAT | No VAT. Fixed, in writing, before any work starts. | CIS → |
| Hayes AccountantsAccountancy firm | CIS personal tax return, flat fee | £39 inc. VAT£39 inc. VAT | No percentage of the refund. | site ↗ |
| TaxRootOnline accountant | Full Self Assessment with the CIS refund, flat fee | £134 (VAT not stated)£134 (VAT not stated) | “Never taking a percentage of your refund.” VAT treatment not stated. | site ↗ |
| DanbroRefund agent | CIS refund and return, fee deducted from the refund | from £249 + VATfrom £298.80 inc. VAT | Payable before filing if no refund is due. | site ↗ |
| RIFT RefundsRefund agent | CIS refund, including the tax return, flat fee | £354 inc. VAT£354 inc. VAT | £295 + VAT. A “rapid refund” advance of half the money in one day costs £125 + VAT more. PAYE refunds are charged at 36% of the refund, minimum £60. | site ↗ |
| LOYALS (London)Accountancy firm | CIS subcontractor return, fixed | £350 a year (VAT not stated)£350 a year (VAT not stated) | site ↗ | |
| QAccountingOnline accountant | CIS tax reclaim | 10% of the refund10% of the refund | Payable only when the refund arrives. £200 of a £2,000 refund. | site ↗ |
| Rebate My TaxRefund agent | CIS tax return | 15% of the refund, minimum £180, maximum £240, + VAT15% of the refund, minimum £216, maximum £288 inc. VAT | On a £2,000 refund the cap applies: £240 + VAT, or £288. | site ↗ |
| BetterTaxRefund agent | CIS tax refund | £149.99 + VAT + 15% of the refund, both + VAT£179.99 inc. VAT + 18% of the refund (15% plus the VAT on it) | On a £2,000 refund: £149.99 + £300, plus VAT on both — £540. | site ↗ |
Landlord and non-resident landlord returns
Rental income on a Self Assessment, with mortgage interest relief, allowable costs and — for owners abroad — the non-resident landlord scheme. Most firms price per property.
Market: One property £140–£320 · three properties £330–£400 + VAT · non-resident returns typically £25–£50 more
| Who | What the price buys | Price | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| REMEZ & PARTNERSUs · London & remote | £149 for one property, £249 for two or more or a non-resident landlord. Mortgage interest relief done right, NRL scheme. Let Property Campaign disclosures are quoted separately. | £149 or £249no VAT | No VAT. Fixed, in writing, before any work starts. | Landlords → |
| TaxdSoftware | Full return including rental pages; covers non-resident landlords | £99 inc. VAT£99 inc. VAT | Software-led, with an adviser call at £100 extra. | site ↗ |
| Landlord Tax AccountantsAccountancy firm | One property, up to two Self Assessments, rental profit and loss, year-round support | £140 a year + VAT£168 a year inc. VAT | Or £12 + VAT a month. A landlord limited company (SPV) is £299 + VAT a year for accounts, CT600 and confirmation statement. | site ↗ |
| TWD AccountsAccountancy firm | Rental accounts and Self Assessment: one property £149.50 · two £299 · three £330 · four £360 | £149.50–£360 a year inc. VAT£149.50–£360 a year inc. VAT | site ↗ | |
| Blue Tick TaxAccountancy firm | Individual landlord return, unlimited income sources, one-off | £199 + VAT£238.80 inc. VAT | Quarterly MTD filing instead from £35 + VAT a month per rental business, returns included. | site ↗ |
| Coman & CoAccountancy firm | Rental income only, by income band: under £20k / to £50k / over £50k | £200–£300 + VAT£240–£360 inc. VAT | Non-resident landlord with rent under £20k: £240 + VAT. | site ↗ |
| MartaxAccountancy firm | UK-resident landlord: one property £250 · two £325 · three £400 | from £250–£400 + VATfrom £300–£480 inc. VAT | Non-resident landlords from £275 / £350 / £425. Joint owners pay slightly less each. | site ↗ |
| UK Tax ReturnsAccountancy firm | One UK property; £100 per additional property up to a £720 cap | £320, no VAT£320, no VAT | Non-residency return with one property from £370. A joint owner’s second return is half price. | site ↗ |
| ProvestorOnline accountant | Landlord limited company: year-end accounts and corporation tax return | £32.50 a month + VAT£39 a month inc. VAT | Plus a £149.17 set-up fee. The advisory tier with tax consultations is £89 + VAT a month. | site ↗ |
| Tax Return Accountants — guide, July 2026Market guide | Landlord returns £150–£600, plus £30–£50 per additional property | £150–£600 + VAT£180–£720 inc. VAT | site ↗ |
First UK tax year, foreign income and residence
A return with foreign income, a residence test, split-year treatment or a FIG-regime claim. Priced as a “complex” return almost everywhere, which is why the ranges are wider.
Market: Software-led £86–£99 · firms £225–£315 + VAT · guides put foreign-income returns at £350–£500 + VAT
| Who | What the price buys | Price | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| REMEZ & PARTNERSUs · London & remote | Residence check, split-year treatment, FIG claim, double-tax relief — the first-year return that decides the next four. | £249no VAT | No VAT. Fixed, in writing, before any work starts. | Moving to the UK → |
| TaxdSoftware | Full return with foreign income, residence pages, dual residence or non-dom position | £99 inc. VAT£99 inc. VAT | site ↗ | |
| GoSimpleTaxSoftware | Residency plan: the SA109 residence pages alongside the return | £85.99 a year inc. VAT£85.99 a year inc. VAT | Subscription price; £129.99 as a one-off. | site ↗ |
| Coman & CoAccountancy firm | Employment income plus foreign income: under £3k / £20k–£50k of foreign income | £225–£275 + VAT£270–£330 inc. VAT | site ↗ | |
| 1st Cloud AccountantsAccountancy firm | Return with a foreign-income schedule from the client’s own summary | £315 + VAT£378 inc. VAT | (list dated March 2025) | site ↗ |
| The Accountancy Partnership — guide, August 2026Market guide | Returns with foreign income, capital gains or heavy trading | from £350–£500 + VATfrom £420–£600 inc. VAT | site ↗ |
Income evidence: SA302 packs and accountant’s letters
The documents a lender, landlord or the Home Office asks a self-employed applicant for. SA302s and tax year overviews are free from HMRC; the accountant’s letter that interprets them is the paid part.
Market: SA302 pack £75–£105 + VAT · accountant’s letter or reference £75–£120 + VAT · a full pack is rarely priced as one product
| Who | What the price buys | Price | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| REMEZ & PARTNERSUs · London & remote | The Evidence Pack: SA302s, tax year overviews, an accountant’s income letter and management accounts, as one set. Corrected and reissued free if a bank or the Home Office queries it. | £249 or £349no VAT | No VAT. Fixed, in writing, before any work starts. | SA302 and evidence → |
| HMRCGovernment | SA302 tax calculation and tax year overview from your own online account | FreeFree | Lenders accept the self-printed versions. The document that needs an accountant is the letter interpreting them. | site ↗ |
| 1st Cloud AccountantsAccountancy firm | SA302 and tax year overview pack: to the client / sent to a broker or lender | £75–£105 + VAT£90–£126 inc. VAT | Third-party references and rent applications from £75 + VAT; £120 + VAT where an opinion is required. (list dated March 2025) | site ↗ |
| Audit Consulting GroupAccountancy firm | Accountant’s letter with a check of existing figures, for a mortgage or tenancy | from £120 + VATfrom £144 inc. VAT | Multiple years, catch-up filings or several lenders are quoted individually. | site ↗ |
| OsomeOnline accountant | Professional reference, as an add-on to a subscription | £100 (VAT not stated)£100 (VAT not stated) | site ↗ |
HMRC letters, compliance checks and disclosures
Replying to a compliance check, appealing a penalty, making a voluntary disclosure. Almost nobody publishes a fixed price; the published figures are hourly rates, and the hours are the unknown.
Market: Hourly £85–£300 + VAT · narrow fixed-fee cases from £695 · investigation insurance around £15 a month
| Who | What the price buys | Price | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| REMEZ & PARTNERSUs · London & remote | We read the letter first and tell you what it means — free. A reply, appeal or disclosure is then quoted as a fixed fee in writing before any work starts, not by the hour. | Fixed quote after a free assessment | No VAT. Fixed, in writing, before any work starts. | HMRC letters → |
| RIFT RefundsRefund agent | HMRC enquiry into a return they did not file | £85 an hour + VAT£102 an hour inc. VAT | Minimum one hour. Free where RIFT filed the claim. | site ↗ |
| LOYALS (London)Accountancy firm | Compliance check or enquiry defence | from £195 an hour (VAT not stated)from £195 an hour (VAT not stated) | A CIS investigation as a fixed case from £695. Tax investigation insurance £15 a month. | site ↗ |
| Holloway Davies — guide, 2025/26Market guide | HMRC enquiry work at UK firms | £100–£300 an hour (VAT not stated)£100–£300 an hour (VAT not stated) | “Or a fixed fee depending on complexity.” | site ↗ |
Bookkeeping, VAT returns and payroll
The add-ons that turn an entry-price package into the real monthly bill. Worth reading the small print of any subscription above against these.
Market: Bookkeeping £20–£400 a month · VAT returns £35 a month or £75–£200 a return · payroll £4–£30 per employee a month
| Who | What the price buys | Price | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| REMEZ & PARTNERSUs · London & remote | Scoped into the monthly figure above after the free assessment, so the subscription is the bill. | Fixed quote after a free assessment | No VAT. Fixed, in writing, before any work starts. | What we do → |
| The Accountancy PartnershipOnline accountant | Add-ons to a package | Bookkeeping from £20 · VAT returns from £35 · payroll from £24 · MTD quarterly updates from £35 — a month, + VATBookkeeping from £24 · VAT returns from £42 · payroll from £28.80 · MTD quarterly updates from £42 — a month, inc. VAT | CIS contractor returns from £6 per statement. | site ↗ |
| MazumaOnline accountant | Add-ons to a package | VAT returns £20 · payroll £15 — a month, + VATVAT returns £24 · payroll £18 — a month, inc. VAT | site ↗ | |
| CrunchOnline accountant | Employee payroll: up to 5 staff / 6–10 / 11–15 | £20–£30 a month + VAT£24–£36 a month inc. VAT | Director payroll for two directors at the NI threshold is included in company packages. | site ↗ |
| OsomeOnline accountant | Payroll per employee / catch-up bookkeeping | Payroll £10 per employee a month · catch-up bookkeeping £85 a month · VAT registration £50, + VATPayroll £12 per employee a month · catch-up bookkeeping £102 a month · VAT registration £60, inc. VAT | site ↗ | |
| LOYALS (London)Accountancy firm | Bookkeeping light / standard / premium | from £125–£495 a month (VAT not stated)from £125–£495 a month (VAT not stated) | Director-only payroll £35 a month; a team £75 a month plus £10 per employee; VAT from £195 a quarter. | site ↗ |
| Startups.co.uk — payroll guide, 2026Market guide | Fully managed payroll £5–£10 per payslip, or £4–£6 per employee a month | £5–£10 a payslip (VAT not stated)£5–£10 a payslip (VAT not stated) | Named bureaus: IRIS £39 a month plus £1.95 a payslip; PayEscape from £53 a month; Moorepay around £50 for up to ten staff. | site ↗ |
| AccountingStack — guide, 2026Market guide | Bookkeeping £100–£400 a month · payroll for 1–5 staff £25–£75 a month · VAT return £75–£200 each | £100–£400 a month (VAT not stated)£100–£400 a month (VAT not stated) | site ↗ |
Doing it yourself
The honest baseline. HMRC and Companies House charge little or nothing to file; the software that makes it painless costs about the price of a takeaway a month.
Market: Filing itself £0–£50 · software £5–£33 a month or £70 a year · free with some business bank accounts
| Who | What the price buys | Price | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| REMEZ & PARTNERSUs · London & remote | If a guide on this site solves it, you do not need us — and we say so on the free assessment. | — | The guides → | |
| HMRCGovernment | Self Assessment filed online through your personal tax account | FreeFree | Your time, your allowances missed, your mistakes — but no fee. | site ↗ |
| Companies HouseGovernment | Accounts filed online / confirmation statement filed online | Accounts free · confirmation statement £50Accounts free · confirmation statement £50 | The corporation tax return needs HMRC-recognised software since HMRC’s free filing service closed in March 2026. | site ↗ |
| FreeAgentSoftware | Sole trader: bookkeeping, Self Assessment filed to HMRC, MTD quarterly updates | £19 a month + VAT£22.80 a month inc. VAT | Free with a NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle business account. Half price for an introductory period otherwise. Limited company £33 + VAT a month. | site ↗ |
| GoSimpleTaxSoftware | Self Assessment with all supplementary pages, filed to HMRC | £69.99 a year inc. VAT£69.99 a year inc. VAT | Subscription price; £113.99 as a one-off for one year. An MTD plan is £12.99 a month. | site ↗ |
| Taxfix (formerly TaxScouts)Software | Making Tax Digital software | from £4.99 a month (VAT not stated)from £4.99 a month (VAT not stated) | First three months free. | site ↗ |
| CrunchSoftware | Crunch Plus software only: MTD for Income Tax, VAT returns, bank matching | £10 a month + VAT£12 a month inc. VAT | site ↗ |
What moves the price
- Records. A spreadsheet and a bank feed are one price; a carrier bag of receipts is bookkeeping first, then the return.
- Income sources. Each supplementary page — employment, self-employment, property, foreign income, gains — is another schedule, and most firms price by the number of them.
- Turnover and VAT registration. Company fees step up at the VAT threshold and again around £250k, because the books get bigger.
- The deadline. Several providers charge more the closer you get to 31 January, and some add an express fee in the final fortnight.
- VAT on the fee. “+ VAT” means 20% on top. A firm that is not VAT registered — like us — does not add it.
- Add-ons. Bookkeeping, VAT returns, payroll, each director’s personal return and the confirmation statement are where a £39.50 package becomes £90.
- Software. Some packages include FreeAgent, Xero or their own app; others assume you already pay for one.
- Percentage fees. A share of your refund is a fee with no ceiling except the one some agents choose to set.
- “From” prices. A floor, not a quote. The real figure arrives after a questionnaire — which is why the “from” in the tables is marked.
How we charge
- The assessment is free, and you are under no obligation afterwards.
- The quote is fixed and in writing before any work starts, with what is included and what is not.
- No hourly billing, no percentage of a refund, no VAT.
- Ongoing work is a monthly subscription collected by Direct Debit; one-off work is invoiced before we file.
- If a bank, lender or the Home Office queries a document we prepared, we correct and reissue it free and deal with the follow-up ourselves.
Find out what yours would cost — free
Tell us the situation in a sentence: what you do, roughly what you earn, and what is worrying you. We come back with what needs doing and what it costs, in writing, so you can hold it against any row in the tables above.
Ask on WhatsAppOr send an email
Free assessment first. If there is work to do, you get a fixed quote in writing before anything starts.
Questions people ask
How much does an accountant cost in the UK?
For most people the answer sits in three bands. A one-off Self Assessment is £150–£400 + VAT at a typical firm, £35–£240 from an app or online service, and £500 or more when foreign income, property and capital gains arrive together. A monthly package for a sole trader starts at £24.50–£60 + VAT; for a limited company £39.50–£179 + VAT, with bookkeeping, VAT returns and payroll usually extra. A small company’s accounts and tax return as a one-off job are £349–£1,275 + VAT. The tables above show who charges what.
How much do accountants charge for a Self Assessment tax return?
£150–£250 + VAT for a simple return with one or two income sources, £200–£350 for a sole trader with expenses, £350–£500 or more where there is property, gains or foreign income — the range The Accountancy Partnership and Unbiased both publish for 2026, and the individual prices above bear it out. Apps are cheaper, at £35–£99, because you do the data entry and nobody reads your bank statements. Ours is £99, £149 or £249 by complexity, fixed before we start, with no VAT.
How much is an accountant for a limited company?
Published monthly packages run from £39.50 + VAT (accounts and the company tax return only, each director’s personal return extra) to £179 + VAT for an inside-IR35 contractor tier, with £90–£135 + VAT the common middle. As a one-off job, accounts and the CT600 for a small company are £349–£1,275 + VAT from fixed-fee providers, and market guides put an active company at £900–£2,000. Check whether the confirmation statement, payroll and each director’s personal return are in the price — at the entry level they usually are not.
Why do you not add VAT, and does it matter?
We are not VAT registered, so the figure we quote is the figure you pay. Most firms in the tables are registered and add 20%: £24.50 + VAT is £29.40, £135 + VAT is £162. If you cannot reclaim VAT yourself — a sole trader below the threshold or a private landlord cannot — that 20% is a real difference, not an accounting one. The switch above the tables adds it for you.
Why do some of your rows say “fixed quote after a free assessment” instead of a price?
Because the work genuinely varies, and a number that turns out to be wrong is worse than no number. An HMRC compliance check can be one letter or six months; a company’s year can be forty transactions or four thousand. So we look first, free, and then give a fixed price in writing. It does not move afterwards unless the work turns out to be materially different from what you described — and then we tell you before continuing, not after.
How does a percentage fee compare with a flat fee?
On a £2,000 CIS refund the percentage models in the table work out at £200–£540, and the flat-fee providers file the same return for £39–£354. The percentage rises with the refund; the flat fee does not. Some flat-fee providers also deduct their fee from the refund, so paying nothing up front does not require a percentage model. Which suits you depends on the size of your refund and whether you can pay before it arrives.
Is the cheapest accountant a false economy?
Not necessarily — a £35 app is good value for a simple return. Price stops being the point when it excludes the thing you need. Check who actually prepares the return (a qualified person, or a questionnaire), whether the price rises near the deadline, whether the software is a separate subscription, whether the entry package includes bookkeeping, and what happens when HMRC writes to you afterwards. Most surprises in this market are add-ons, not headline prices.
Can I claim the accountant’s fee against tax?
For a business, yes: accountancy fees for the accounts and the business part of the return are an allowable expense for sole traders, landlords and companies alike. The cost of a purely personal return, with no business or property income behind it, is not deductible. We show the split on the invoice so the right part gets claimed.
Do prices go up in January?
At several providers, yes: Crunch says so on its pricing page and Taxd adds a last-minute surcharge, because January is when everyone arrives at once. Ours does not change with the date — but our capacity does, and a return filed in the autumn gets more attention than one filed on 30 January.
Prices were read on 21 August 2026 from the page linked in each row, and belong to the providers named. They change — often towards 31 January — and a “from” price is the floor of a range, not a quote. VAT is shown as each provider states it; where a provider does not say, the table says so rather than guessing. Nothing here is a recommendation of any provider, and the market guides are quoted for their ranges, not endorsed.
Found your firm's price wrong here? Email hello@remezpartners.co.uk and we will correct it, or remove the row if we cannot verify the current figure. A comparison that names other firms has to be accurate, and prices move — we would rather be right than first.
Prices checked 21 August 2026.
